Warning message

We are currently experiencing issues with the member portal section of the ASID website. If you are not able to see the spotlight menu or the self service admin menu, please try again in a few minutes.

Designer of Distinction Award

Designer of Distinction


The Designer of Distinction Award is the premier award for personal achievement in the field of interior design. It recognizes an ASID professional member who exemplifies a commitment to the profession as demonstrated by a significant, high-quality body of work. The award also celebrates the designer’s attention to social concerns within the interior design profession and to the member’s expression of creative, innovative concepts that have advanced the profession.


Tama Duffy Day

Over the past 30 years, Washington, D.C.-based Tama Duffy Day has produced an impressive body of work demonstrating the measurable effects of design on productivity, efficiency and innovation. Duffy Day entered the design profession before healthcare was a design specialty. In many ways she helped shape the practice by continually focusing on design and planning innovations. Her projects range from 6 million-square-foot health campuses and 1 million-square-foot academic medical centers to 2,000-square-foot federally qualified health centers; each receiving the same focus—creating culturally supportive healing environments. Currently she is a firmwide leader of the Health & Wellness Practice Area at Gensler, a research-driven global design and architecture firm. Her practice probes the healing capabilities of interior design and its capacity to influence cultures.

Duffy Day’s commitment to research-driven design is matched by her dedication to mentoring and inspiring the next generation of designers. To her, some of the most meaningful work she’s done has been the creation of platforms for other interior designers to be recognized, including guiding hundreds of interior designers through design critiques, editing articles and encouraging them to share their points of view.

Tama Duffy Day in the News:

Tama Duffy Day to Present on Communication at the Design at Design to Lead Summit | ASID

Panel Discussion Promotes Generative Spaces | ASID ICON

Design in Healthcare Has the Power to Impact People at Their Most Vulnerable | Quality of Life Observer

Positive Distraction and Age Differences: Design Implications for Pediatric Healthcare Environments | Perkins+Will

Designing for Health: Action Research as a New Paradigm for Improving Health Outcomes | Contract

Using Clinical Simulation Centers to Test Design Interventions: A Pilot Study for Lighting and Color Modifications | HERD

Previous Designer of Distinction Award Winners


2013:   Robert Wright, FASID
2012:   Rosalyn Cama, FASID
2011:   Mariette Himes Gomez, ASID
2010:   Kirsten Childs, ASID, LEED AP
2009:   Darrell Schmitt, FASID
2007:   Nila Leiserowitz, FASID
2006:   Penny Bonda, FASID
2005:   Barbara Barry, FASID
2004:   Deborah Lloyd Forrest, FASID
2003:   Eleanor Brydone, FASID 
2002:   Hugh Latta, FASID and Margaret McCurry, ASID
2001:   William Hodgins, ASID
2000:   Paul Vincent Wiseman, ASID

1999:   Gary Wheeler, FASID
1998:   Janet Schirn, FASID
1997:   Phyllis Martin-Vegue, ASID
1996:   Joseph Minton, ASID
1995:   Andre Staffelbach, ASID
1994:   Charles D. Gandy, FASID
1993:   Trisha Wilson, ASID
1992:   Richard Himmel, FASID
1991:   John F. Saladino, ASID
1990:   Sarah Tomerlin Lee, ASID