Design Innovation



The Design Innovation Award recognizes an individual, organization, manufacturer, or research project for having produced a significant and innovative product, project or body of work that contributes to interior design by positively impacting human behavior; promoting comfort, efficiency or communication; exemplifying a commitment to the profession; exhibiting a commitment to sustainability, health, and wellness; and displaying an overall appreciation for design.


Eligible parties include any individual, organization, manufacturer, or research project that has made lasting and significant contributions to the body of knowledge that supports the profession of interior design. National officers, board members, jurors, and Awards Committee members are ineligible during their terms of service.


Each year, the Society appoints an Awards Committee of ASID professional members, fellows, and members of the design community. 

Previous Design Innovation Award Winners

2016: Stacklab + Rebart
2015: Wayne Ruga, PhD, FAIA, FIIDA, Hon. FASID
2014: Haworth's Bluescape
2013: Health Product Declaration Collaborative
2012: Material Connexion
2011: BIFMA Level Sustainability Standard