Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit Award


The Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit Award pays tribute to the work and accomplishments of Nancy Vincent McClelland, an ardent advocate for professional recognition in the interior design field and the first woman president of the American Institute of Decorators (now ASID), from 1941 to 1944.


This award honors individuals, organizations, manufacturers, or research projects for outstanding support of the interior design profession through education, research, promotion of the value or impact of interior design, or another significant contribution. Awards will be given annually as merited.


Eligible parties include any individual, organization, manufacturer, or research project that has made lasting and significant contributions to the body of knowledge that supports the profession of interior design. National officers, board members, jurors, and Awards Committee members are ineligible during their terms of service.


Each year, the Society appoints an Awards Committee of ASID professional members, fellows, and members of the design community.

Previous Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit Award Winners

2016: Caren S. Martin, Ph.D., CID, FASID
2015: Lisa Marie Tucker, Ph.D., ASID, IDEC
2014: Amy Campos, RA, ASID, IDEC, IIDA, LEED AP
2013: Linda Sorrento, FASID, IIDA, LEED AP BD+C
2012: Kerrie Kelly, ASID, CAPS
2011: Jacqueline Vischer, PhD