Student Chapter of the Year Award

The ASID Student Chapter of the Year award recognizes a single ASID student chapter that has provided exceptional service to its student members, professional associates, and community. The ASID Student Chapter of the Year will be recognized nationally through ASID publications and at an awards event/luncheon held at an upcoming industry event.

The ASID Colorado State University Student Chapter was named one of the top five chapters in the country for its recruiting numbers in fall 2015, increasing their membership by 58.8 percent since the school year began. The publicity helped the chapter grow and supported the chapter efforts that members put forward, including visiting classrooms to present on the fundamentals of ASID. The chapter also teamed up with other interior design organizations, like SHN and IIDA, to recruit members at the first ever I.D. Recruitment Fair. The fair provided a sense of community for the student body. IIDA and SHN started small, and it was a goal of the ASID-CSU student chapter to help them grow while sustaining membership. To give back to the community, the ASID-CSU student chapter hit the sidewalks of Fort Collins to help clean up yards and homes. The chapter also volunteered with DMLT, SHN, and IIDA for RamRide, a service that offers a safe ride home to students, in order to serve the community and fundraise for future events. In total, RamRide gave students an impressive 315 rides home. Overall, the ASID-CSU Student Chapter endeavored to build from their foundation this year, structuring it so that it is stable for years to come.
The ASID chapter at Mississippi State University set strategic goals that not only emphasize their accomplishments and notable projects, but enhance the quality of their achievements and aspirations going forward. Through deliberate meetings and chapter collaborations, ASID-MSU has accomplished a number of goals that have the potential to reap benefits for the student chapter at MSU and for ASID on a national level. These goals include improving efforts in communication among officers and members, increasing membership, implementing consistency throughout the entire chapter, encouraging greater involvement and community service, promoting member benefits, and establishing annual expectations. These goals were accomplished through a number of avenues outlined in ASID-MSU’s strategic plan. 

2015: Colorado State University
2014: University of North Texas
2013: Southwest University of Visual Arts
2012: Illinois Institute of Art Chicago