ASID National Awards

The ASID National Awards represent the Society’s highest level of professional recognition.

The awards primarily recognize a body of work created over the course of a career rather than a specific member achievement. However, institutions, corporations, and patrons may be recognized for specific exemplary projects or product innovation.

Designer of Distinction

Honors an ASID professional member who over the course of his or her interior design career has established a body of superior work demonstrating creativity, excellence, and innovation. This is the premier award for personal achievement and social consciousness in the interior design field.

Design Innovation

Recognizes an individual, institution, manufacturer, or research team for producing an innovative project, product, or body of work that contributes significantly to advancing the field of interior design.

Design for Humanity

Celebrates an individual or institution for contributions to improving the human experience through environmentally-friendly and health-focused interior design projects or activities that demonstrate far-reaching impact.

Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit

Pays tribute to the accomplishments of McClelland, an ardent advocate for professional recognition who was the first woman president of the American Institute of Decorators (now ASID) from 1941 to 1944. First presented in 2011, the award honors an individual, organization, manufacturer, or research team for outstanding support of the interior design profession.