Design for Humanity

Design for Humanity

This award celebrates an individual or institution for having significantly contributed to improving the environment for humanity through design-related activities or projects that transform lives.

Photo: 2017 Winner, Susan Szenasy, Hon. FASID

The impact of these activities must have demonstrated far-reaching effects. The award includes, but is not limited to, environment, health and wellness, universal or barrier-free design, energy conservation, safety, communication, transportation, and technology.


The design-related activity must positively affect the global human environment, be beneficial to the community at large, and be nonpartisan and judged on its own merits, regardless of size. Specific award criteria differ among the nominee types, as listed below.

  • Individuals and/or design teams must provide documentation of their commitment to improving the quality of the human environment in any of the fields listed above.
  • Product submissions must be commercially available for at least one year, exhibit superior design quality, and be related specifically to one or more of the fields listed above.
  • Government institutions, foundations, associations, corporations, cultural, and civic bodies must provide documentation of their commitment to improving the quality of the human environment in any of the fields listed above.
  • Submissions from academia must include research and/or education related to any of the fields listed above and performed by individuals, institutions, or collaborative groups.

Nominees need not be ASID members. National officers, board members, and award jurors are ineligible during their terms of service.

Jane M. Rohde

2018 Design for Humanity Award Winner - Jane Rohde, ASID, AIA, CHID, ACHA, LEED AP BD+C, GGA-EB

Jane M. Rohde champions a global cultural shift toward de-institutionalizing senior living and healthcare facilities through her practice, person-centered principles, research and advocacy, and design of the built environment. She is the principal of JSR Associates, Inc., which she formed in response to the gap between outcomes, operations, and design of the physical setting.

Through continued practice, Jane has positively impacted the lives of older adults, those with special needs, and the staff that provides care and services to vulnerable populations. Her projects include Cypress Garden Senior Living, China’s first resident-centered care community; the “LIVEWELL” Intergenerational Community, an intentionally designed multi-generational setting that will support person-centered care including educational training and research programs; and Bastion Community of Resilience in New Orleans, an intentional community for Wounded Warriors, their families, retired veterans, and civilians that provides supportive community based services for soldiers with Traumatic Brain injury, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, and other injuries sustained during combat.

Previous Award Winners

2017: Susan Szenasy, Hon. FASID
2016: Dwell with Dignity
2015: William D. Browning, LEED AP, Hon. AIA
2014: Judith Heerwagen
2013: MASS Design Group
2012: The 1% Program of Public Architecture
2009: HOK Community Service Project and Greg Mortenson of the Central Asia Institute
2006: Marianne Cusato
2005: Robin Hood Foundation, Library Initiative, and Patricia Moore, Ph.D., ASID, FIDSA
2004: Architecture for Humanity
2003: Habitat for Humanity
2002: Cynthia Leibrock, ASID
2001: ASID Tennessee Chapter
2000: Victoria Schomer, ASID
1999: AlliedSignal, Inc. – Polymers Division, Petersburg, VA
1998: William L. Wilkoff, FASID, District Design
1997: Barbara J. Campbell, Accessibility Guidebook for Washington
1996: Wayne Ruga and the Center for Health Design
1995: Cranbrook Academy of Art, Michigan
1994: Elizabeth Paepcke and the International Design Conference
1993: Neighborhood Design Center, Baltimore
1992: The Preservation Resource Center, New Orleans
1991: E.I. Du Pont de Nemours & Company, Orange County, TX
1990: The Scavenger Hotline, San Francisco