Design Innovation

Design Innovation

This award recognizes an individual, organization, manufacturer, or research project for having produced a significant and innovative product, project, or body of work that contributes to interior design by positively impacting human behavior; promoting comfort, efficiency, or communication; exemplifying a commitment to the profession; exhibiting a commitment to sustainability, health, and wellness; and displaying an overall appreciation for design.

Photo: 2017 Winner, Design Museum Foundation, Sam Aquillano, Founder


Eligible parties include any individual, organization, manufacturer, or research project that has made lasting and significant contributions to the body of knowledge that supports the profession of interior design. National officers, board members, and award jurors are ineligible during their terms of service.

Design Museum Foundation

2017 Design Innovation Award Winner - Design Museum Foundation

The Design Museum Foundation is on a mission to exhibit the transformative power of design and to inspire creative problem solving by producing inspiring exhibitions and events. The organization seeks to educate the world about design thinking and to transform communities through innovative public demonstration projects. Watch the Design Museum Foundation’s video to learn more about their projects and mission.

Previous Award Winners

2017: Design Museum Foundation
2016: Stacklab + Rebart
2015: Wayne Ruga, PhD, FAIA, FIIDA, Hon. FASID
2014: Haworth's Bluescape
2013: Health Product Declaration Collaborative
2012: Material Connexion
2011: BIFMA Level Sustainability Standard