COVID-19 Tools & Resources from ASID →

Designer of Distinction

The ASID Designer of Distinction award also celebrates attention to social concerns within the interior design profession and the expression of creative, innovative concepts that have advanced the profession and helped transform lives.

This award recognizes an ASID professional member who exemplifies a commitment to the profession as demonstrated by a significant, high-quality body of work representing excellence in interior design.


Nominees must be ASID professional members in good standing who have practiced interior design for at least 10 years.


Kay is a recognized expert on workplace design and strategy. She is an industry thought leader on workplace and travels globally sharing from her broad experience. Kay has authored multiple white papers and articles on design related topics including wellbeing; next gen workforce; technologies impact on the workplace; space fusion and the rise of the human factor. Throughout her career she has served on almost every global or national board that represents the design community – ASID, NCQLP, IIDA, IFI, CoreNet, IWBI, IFMA and volunteered for CIDQ and FIDER. As Co-Director of HOK’s WorkPlace team, Kay is responsible for helping clients redefine how, when and where their people work, and supports a holistic design approach that integrates people, processes and technology.

Previous Award Winners

2019:   Primo Orpilla
2018:   Ken Wilson, ASID, FAIA, LEED® Fellow
2017:   Steve Clem, ASID, FAIA
2016:   Rachelle Schoessler Lynn, FASID, CID, LEED Fellow
2015:   Sonya Dufner, FASID
2014:   Tama Duffy Day, FASID, FIIDA, LEED AP BD+C
2013:   Robert Wright, FASID
2012:   Rosalyn Cama, FASID
2011:   Mariette Himes Gomez, ASID
2010:   Kirsten Childs, ASID, LEED AP
2009:   Darrell Schmitt, FASID
2007:   Nila Lieserowitz, FASID
2006:   Penny Bonda, FASID
2005:   Barbara Barry, FASID
2004:   Deborah Lloyd Forrest, FASID
2003:   Eleanor Brydone, FASID
2002:   Hugh Latta, FASID and Margaret McCurry, ASID
2001:   William Hodgins, ASID
2000:   Paul Vincent Wiseman, ASID
1999:   Gary Wheeler, FASID
1998:   Janet Schirn, FASID
1997:   Phyllis Martin-Vegue, ASID
1996:   Joseph Minton, ASID
1995:   Andre Staffelbach, ASID
1994:   Charles D. Gandy, FASID
1993:   Trisha Wilson, ASID
1992:   Richard Himmel, FASID
1991:   John F. Saladino, ASID
1990:   Sarah Tomerlin Lee, ASID