Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit

Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit

This award pays tribute to the work and accomplishments of Nancy Vincent McClelland, an ardent advocate for professional recognition in the interior design field and the first woman president of the American Institute of Decorators (now ASID), from 1941 to 1944.

Photo: 2017 Winner, Paula Wallace

This award honors individuals, organizations, manufacturers, or research projects for outstanding support of the interior design profession through education, research, promotion of the value or impact of interior design, or another significant contribution. Awards are given annually as merited. Nominees need not be ASID members.


Eligible parties include any individual, organization, manufacturer, or research project that has made lasting and significant contributions to the body of knowledge that supports the profession of interior design. National officers, board members, and award jurors are ineligible during their terms of service.

Tamie Glass, ASID

2018 Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit Award Winner - Tamie Glass, ASID

Tamie Glass teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in interior design at The University of Texas at Austin School of Architecture. Her intercontinental career launched at Daimler in Germany with the creation of corporate identity projects for the Mercedes-Benz brand, followed by four years in London with Virgile & Stone and Conran and Partners. Her expertise extends from high-end hospitality and retail projects throughout the EU and Asia to wellness, corporate, and residential designs in the U.S. Her forthcoming book, “Prompt: Socially Engaging Objects and Environments,” will be published by Birkhäuser Switzerland in the summer of 2018. As a thought-starter for designers, it explores modes of psychosocial interaction and engagement within spaces. She will continue to explore design and human behavior as a visiting scholar at UC Berkeley’s Center for the Built Environment in the spring of 2019.

Tamie holds NCIDQ certification, is a Registered Interior Designer in the State of Texas, and maintains an Austin-based design practice with Associate Professor Ulrich Dangel. Since 2008, she has been the recipient of nearly thirty local, regional, and national design awards including the 2012 Interior Design Educators Council Creative Scholarship Best in Show, the 2011 ASID Educator Design Excellence Award, and the 2014 Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award by The University of Texas System.

Previous Award Winners

2018: Tamie Glass, ASID
2017: Paula Wallace
2016: Caren S. Martin, Ph.D., FASID
2015: Lisa Marie Tucker, Ph.D., ASID, IDEC
2014: Amy Campos, RA, ASID, IDEC, IIDA, LEED AP
2013: Linda Sorrento, FASID, IIDA, LEED AP BD+C
2012: Kerrie Kelly, FASID, CAPS
2011: Jacqueline Vischer, PhD