It is more important than ever for clients and the public to expect interior design professionals to demonstrate their competency. It is not enough for a provider of interior design services to understand just the aesthetics. With literally dozens of credentials in the interior design marketplace, it is becoming harder and hard to navigate the maze and determine what’s right for your long term career development. Without a doubt, the right choices can help you differentiate yourself, setting you apart in the marketplace and demonstrating proof of your expertise as a professional interior designer. The information below is provided to point you in the right direction but is not an exhaustive list of credentialing opportunity. We encourage you to do your research, ask question, look for high quality standards and evaluate the demand in your field of practice and your local area.

ASID Appellation

The ASID appellation is a tremendous advantage to you professionally and distinguishes you as an ASID member within the design industry. The Community of designers in ASID represent a commitment to quality and excellence.


Since its inception, more than 25,000 individuals around the world have earned the prestigious NCIDQ Certificate, the Mark of a Professional® for interior designers. Earning an NCIDQ Certificate is an important milestone for any interior designer and is the only way to advance to Professional Membership in ASID. In today’s increasingly competitive marketplace, an NCIDQ Certificate demonstrates that you are uniquely qualified through education, experience and examination to competently practice interior design.


  • Healthcare – AAHID
    The American Academy of Healthcare Interior Designers certifies the knowledge, skills and abilities of healthcare interior designers. Board Certified Healthcare Interior Design certificants are distinguished and qualified by education, examination, and work experience to practice healthcare interior design. The AAHID appellation recognizes excellence, commitment and knowledge. It further distinguishes preeminent healthcare interior designers from other architects, designers, decorators, and interior designers.
  • Green Building and LEED Ratings - USGBC
    On behalf of USGBC, the Green Building Certification Institute recognizes excellence in green building practices and performance globally through its 3rd party certification services and professional credentials supporting market transformation. LEED Professional Credentials, administered by GBCI for USGBC, demonstrate current knowledge of green building technologies, best practices, and the rapidly evolving LEED Rating Systems. They show differentiation in a growing and competitive industry, and they allow for varied levels of specialization.
  • Residential Kitchen & Bath – NKBA
    The NKBA developed its certification programs as a way for kitchen and bath professionals to enhance their careers. The NKBA’s certification examinations are developed by CASTLE Worldwide, Inc. in conjunction with NKBA’s Exam Development Committee. The primary body of knowledge for NKBA certification is the nine volume Professional Resource Library and the NKBA Kitchen & Bathroom Planning Guidelines.
  • Residential Remodeling – NAHB
    The National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) offers professional designations designed to improve your skills, advance your career, demonstrate your commitment to professional growth. The Certified Aging-in-Place Specialist (CAPS) designation program teaches the technical, business management, and customer service skills essential to competing in the fastest growing segment of the residential remodeling industry: home modifications for the aging-in-place.